Maryann Thomas
1 min readMay 14, 2021

--

Children like balm

Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

There are two little children who give me hope

When I rather mope

And languish (the word of 2021?)

In response to all the suffering, I see in the world today.

They push me outside the hard gates of my heart

Sweet and silly antics, I am forced to take part

Peals of laughter and tinkly giggles

I forget about the sorrowful state of the world today.

Cancelled plans, endless rain, skies of dreary grey

We're all locked inside, nerves about to fray

But it slowly seeps into my being

I am the centre of their world today.

Am I allowed to complain or whine?

That sometimes it doesn't feel so fine

I’ve even felt robbed of an alternative destiny

I am the centre of my world today.

By late afternoons I am spent

Barely know where the day went

But at night I hear the sounds of quietly sleeping sighs, little hearts beating outside mine

There’s peace and calm (like, balm!) in my world today.

--

--

Maryann Thomas

Drawing from personal reflections on identity, culture and womanhood. I also ghostwrite memoirs. htts//www.storiesbymae.com/